No ads, no sign-upChecked 2026-09-03

EV Running Costs by Model

Your numbers

Change any value to update the result.

Charging cost

5.60

Charging cost: 5.60

Personal inputs stay on this device. Sharing sends the calculator page without these values.

Examples

AUTO BILD drove 21 electric cars over the same 155 km route and measured what each used: 16.4 kWh per 100 km for the Dacia Spring, 30.7 for the VW ID.Buzz. At 31.1 cents per kWh that is €5.10 and €9.55 for 100 km. The fourth column carries the test temperature, because a row driven at −2 °C is not comparable with one driven at 21 °C.

The numbers at a glance

Held fixed: Distance 100 km, Consumption 18.0 kWh/100 km, Surcharge for weather and driving profile 0 %, Charging loss 0.0 %.

Price per kWhCharging cost
0.10001.80
0.20003.60
0.30005.40
0.3110Your value5.60
0.40007.20
0.50009.00
0.600010.80

Two numbers per car, both from a single published test: AUTO BILD drove 21 electric cars over the same 155 km route, measured what each one used, and turned that into a cost for 100 km at 31.1 cents per kWh. That price is the German average for existing customers on 2026-08-17 according to Strom-Report.com; the article is dated 2026-08-18 and was read on 2026-09-03. The consumption is measured, not derived, and that is the whole point of this table. The dataset this family replaces carried a summer and a winter figure for 281 models that looked like measurements and were not: they were the catalogue WLTP value times 1.08 and times 1.38, the same two constants on every row, with the ev-database.org homepage cited for all of them. A seasonal factor that never varies by car cannot tell you anything about your car, so there is no winter column here. The surcharge is a field in the calculator above, with the measured ADAC ranges printed beside it. What this table cannot do is rank the cars against each other. The test temperature ranges from −2 °C for the Skoda Elroq to 21 °C for the BMW iX1, and part of the gap between two rows is weather rather than engineering. The fourth column carries the temperature wherever AUTO BILD states it; for ten of the 21 cars it does not. Charging losses are not in these costs, and AUTO BILD says so itself. The ADAC measures 5.1 to 7.0 % on an 11 kW wallbox and 12.7 to 24.2 % on a household socket; add yours in the calculator. 20 of the 21 cars have their own page. The VW ID.Buzz does not: 30.7 kWh at 31.1 cents is €9.55, the article prints €9.67, and for the other twenty the sum comes out to the cent. Which of the two figures is wrong the source does not say, so the row stays and the page does not.

  1. Dacia Spring5.1Charging cost
    Consumption
    16.4 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.10
    Test temperature
    not stated
  2. Fiat 500 Electric5.2Charging cost
    Consumption
    16.7 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.19
    Test temperature
    not stated
  3. Opel Astra Electric5.2Charging cost
    Consumption
    16.8 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.22
    Test temperature
    not stated
  4. VW ID.3 Pro5.4Charging cost
    Consumption
    17.3 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.38
    Test temperature
    not stated
  5. Mercedes-Benz CLA5.5Charging cost
    Consumption
    17.8 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.54
    Test temperature
    not stated
  6. Tesla Model Y5.6Charging cost
    Consumption
    18.1 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.63
    Test temperature
    18 °C
  7. Mini Cooper SE5.8Charging cost
    Consumption
    18.6 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.78
    Test temperature
    18 °C
  8. Opel Corsa Electric5.9Charging cost
    Consumption
    19.0 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.91
    Test temperature
    9 °C
  9. Tesla Model 3 Performance6Charging cost
    Consumption
    19.2 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €5.97
    Test temperature
    not stated
  10. BMW iX16Charging cost
    Consumption
    19.4 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €6.03
    Test temperature
    21 °C
  11. Skoda Enyaq 85x6.1Charging cost
    Consumption
    19.5 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €6.06
    Test temperature
    15 °C
  12. Hyundai Inster6.2Charging cost
    Consumption
    19.8 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €6.16
    Test temperature
    8 °C
  13. Mazda 6e EV6.6Charging cost
    Consumption
    21.2 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €6.59
    Test temperature
    not stated
  14. Mercedes EQB 300 4Matic7Charging cost
    Consumption
    22.6 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €7.03
    Test temperature
    not stated
  15. Renault 5 E-Tech7.1Charging cost
    Consumption
    22.8 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €7.09
    Test temperature
    12 °C
  16. VW ID.7 Tourer Pro7.4Charging cost
    Consumption
    23.8 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €7.40
    Test temperature
    5 °C
  17. Audi Q4 45 e-tron7.4Charging cost
    Consumption
    23.8 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €7.40
    Test temperature
    not stated
  18. VW ID.4 Pro 4Motion8.5Charging cost
    Consumption
    27.3 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €8.49
    Test temperature
    not stated
  19. Skoda Elroq8.9Charging cost
    Consumption
    28.5 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €8.86
    Test temperature
    -2 °C
  20. Hyundai Ioniq 58.9Charging cost
    Consumption
    28.7 kWh
    Cost per 100 km
    €8.93
    Test temperature
    20 °C

Model

ModelConsumptionCost per 100 kmTest temperature
VW ID.Buzz30.7 kWh€9.67 (€9.55 by the sum)6 °C

Worked examples

Case 1

Distance
100km
Consumption
18kWh/100 km
Surcharge for weather and driving profile
0%
Charging loss
0%
Price per kWh
0.311

5.60

Open with these values

Case 2

Distance
15000km
Consumption
19kWh/100 km
Surcharge for weather and driving profile
25%
Charging loss
6%
Price per kWh
0.311

1,178.66

Open with these values

Case 3

Distance
300km
Consumption
22.6kWh/100 km
Surcharge for weather and driving profile
0%
Charging loss
12.7%
Price per kWh
0.51

39.61

Open with these values

How it's calculated

cost = distance/100 × consumption × (1 + surcharge) ÷ (1 − loss) × price

  1. StepEnter the distance. It starts at 100 km, so the result reads as cost per 100 km.Distance=100km
  2. StepEnter the car's consumption in kWh per 100 km.Consumption=18kWh/100 km
  3. StepAdd a surcharge for weather and driving profile; the table below carries the measured ones.Surcharge for weather and driving profile=0%
  4. StepAdd the charging loss if your consumption figure is measured at the wheel.Charging loss=0%·Consumption=18kWh/100 km
  5. ResultEnter your price per kWh and read the cost.Price per kWh=0.311→5.60

What this number means

Electricity for 100 km is consumption times price: 18 kWh per 100 km at 31.1 cents is 5.60. That sum holds for a mild day on your own wallbox and for nothing else, which is why this calculator has two more fields. The first is the surcharge for weather and driving profile.

Over a full year the ADAC measures 25 to 31 % more than in mild weather, on a 100 km real drive at 0 °C it measures 21 to 30 %, and Green NCAP on short trips at −7 °C finds between 38 % and 107 %. The surcharge therefore belongs to the driving profile, not to the model: a fixed winter figure per car would be invented, and a winter column that is really the catalogue figure times a constant is the exact mistake this page refuses to repeat. The second field is the charging loss, the energy that disappears between socket and battery and still appears on your bill.

The ADAC measures 5.1 to 7.0 % on an 11 kW wallbox and 12.7 to 24.2 % on a household socket. It divides rather than multiplies: 20 kWh at a 20 % loss is 25 kWh drawn from the grid, not 24, so the bill rises by 25 %. Both fields start at 0, so the calculator claims nothing about your car until you type it in. What the result never contains: purchase price, depreciation, insurance, tax, tyres, servicing and the idle fees some rapid chargers add.

A charging loss is divided, not added on top

20 % loss means 20 divided by 0.8, so 25 kWh from the socket — 25 % more electricity, not 20 %. Adding 20 % instead gives 24 kWh and understates every bill.

The winter surcharge belongs to the trip, not the car

Measured over a full year the ADAC finds 25 to 31 % more, on short trips at −7 °C Green NCAP finds between 38 and 107 %. There is no single winter figure per model, and any table that shows one has calculated it.

Do not count the loss twice

If your consumption figure is already measured at the socket, leave the charging loss at 0. Magazine test figures are usually measured at the wheel, figures from a charge point app are not.

Where the percentages come from

Charging losses: ADAC, five cars across four charging modes, checked on 2026-09-03. Winter surcharges: ADAC endurance tests, ADAC real drives and Green NCAP, checked on 2026-09-03.

Commonly misread

MisconceptionA 20 % charging loss adds 20 % to the bill.

CorrectionIt adds 25 %. The loss is a share of the energy drawn from the grid, so the sum divides by 0.8 rather than multiplying by 1.2.

MisconceptionEvery model has a winter consumption figure.

CorrectionPublished measurements spread from 21 % to 107 % more, driven by trip length and temperature rather than by the badge.

MisconceptionThe catalogue consumption is what you pay for.

CorrectionYou pay for what leaves the socket. Between 5 and 24 % of it never reaches the battery, depending on where and how fast you charge.

Reference table

What it correctsMeasurementPercentage
Winter, 100 km real drive at 0 °CADAC: Renault Zoe, Peugeot e-208+21 %
Winter, 100 km real drive at 0 °CADAC: VW ID.3+30 %
Winter, year-round endurance testADAC: Opel Ampera-e+25 %
Winter, year-round endurance testADAC: VW e-up, Renault Zoe+31 %
Winter, short trips at −7 °CGreen NCAP: BYD Atto 3+38 %
Winter, short trips at −7 °CGreen NCAP: VW ID.5+107 %
Charging loss, 11 kW wallboxADAC, five cars5.1 to 7.0 %
Charging loss, solar surplus at 4.1 kWADAC, five cars8.0 to 12.8 %
Charging loss, household socketADAC, five cars12.7 to 24.2 %
Charging loss, DC rapid chargingADAC, four cars5 to 15 %

Questions

How much does it cost to charge an electric car per 100 km?

Multiply consumption in kWh per 100 km by your price per kWh. At 18 kWh and 31.1 cents that is 5.60 for 100 km, before any winter surcharge or charging loss.

How do I include charging losses?

Divide the energy by one minus the loss: 20 kWh at 20 % loss is 25 kWh from the socket. The ADAC measured 5.1 to 7.0 % on an 11 kW wallbox and 12.7 to 24.2 % on a household socket.

How much more does an EV use in winter?

It depends on the trip, not the model. The ADAC measures 25 to 31 % more across a full year and 21 to 30 % on a 100 km drive at 0 °C, while Green NCAP finds 38 to 107 % on short trips at −7 °C.

Why are both correction fields set to 0?

Because neither has a single correct value, and a default would look like a measurement. The table above carries the published ranges so you can pick the row that matches your driving.

What is not in this result?

Everything about the car that is not electricity: purchase price, depreciation, insurance, tax, tyres and servicing. Idle fees at rapid chargers are outside it too.

Sources and last check

  1. autobild.de

Information, not financial advice.